A Note About Website Availability

Titles listed on our website are not necessarily in stock at our physical storefront. If a book says "usually ships in 1-5 days," that means it should be available at our distributor's warehouses, but it does not indicate whether we have the book in stock at the shop. We have some lists on our home page of books that are usually on the shelves, but those are manually updated by us. It is not currently possible for us to manually update every title on the site with its in-store availability. The fastest way to check on a title or two is to give us a call at 617-734-7323. If you have a longer list, or if you have a little more time to wait for a response, send us an email or place an online order. Thank you for understanding! 

 

 

You are here

Back to top

Beetle & the Hollowbones (Paperback)

Beetle & the Hollowbones Cover Image
By Aliza Layne, Aliza Layne (Illustrator), Kristen Acampora (Colorist), Natalie Riess (Colorist)
$12.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A Stonewall Honor Book

An enchanting, riotous, and playfully illustrated debut graphic novel following a young goblin trying to save her best friend from the haunted mall—perfect for fans of Steven Universe and Adventure Time.

In the eerie town of ‘Allows, some people get to be magical sorceresses, while other people have their spirits trapped in the mall for all ghastly eternity.

Then there’s twelve-year-old goblin-witch Beetle, who’s caught in between. She’d rather skip being homeschooled completely and spend time with her best friend, Blob Glost. But the mall is getting boring, and B.G. is cursed to haunt it, tethered there by some unseen force. And now Beetle’s old best friend, Kat, is back in town for a sorcery apprenticeship with her Aunt Hollowbone. Kat is everything Beetle wants to be: beautiful, cool, great at magic, and kind of famous online. Beetle’s quickly being left in the dust.

But Kat’s mentor has set her own vile scheme in motion. If Blob Ghost doesn’t escape the mall soon, their afterlife might be coming to a very sticky end. Now, Beetle has less than a week to rescue her best ghost, encourage Kat to stand up for herself, and confront the magic she’s been avoiding for far too long. And hopefully ride a broom without crashing.

About the Author


Aliza Layne is a cartoonist, illustrator, and storyteller. She is the creator of Demon Street, a long-form fantasy webcomic for all ages. Her Halloween costumes have elicited the phrases “theatrical,” “don’t you think you’re going a little overboard,” and “oh, we remember you from last year.” Beetle and the Hollowbones is her first graphic novel and a Stonewall Honor Book. Visit Aliza at AlizaLayne.com.

Aliza Layne is a cartoonist, illustrator, and storyteller. She is the creator of Demon Street, a long-form fantasy webcomic for all ages. Her Halloween costumes have elicited the phrases “theatrical,” “don’t you think you’re going a little overboard,” and “oh, we remember you from last year.” Beetle and the Hollowbones is her first graphic novel and a Stonewall Honor Book. Visit Aliza at AlizaLayne.com.

Praise For…


* "This splashy fantasy graphic novel blends rollicking adventure with inclusive teen themes. Though bustling with goblins, witches, ghosts, and skeletons, this beautifully drawn graphic novel addresses important questions facing even mortal kids. . . . Diversity is a strength in this female-driven text, which features a tenderly portrayed LGBTQ love story between Kat and Beetle. Wise older women act as mentors, body diversity is casually positive, and Blob Ghost uses they/them pronouns throughout. . . . This inclusive fantasy adventure passes the Bechdel test with flying colors."
— Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

* "Layne makes a stellar debut. Simultaneously gorgeous and goofy, the artwork is reminiscent of the animated series Bee and Puppycat and a delicious love letter to shoujo manga. Layne’s supernatural cast is fantastic, from green-skinned Beetle and her grandmother to Kat and Marla, ­respectively, skeletal cat and bird ­creatures. Characters’ LGBTQ identities, such as Beetle and Kat’s changing relationship, as well as the use of the they pronoun for Blob Ghost, are gently woven throughout the narrative. Relying on intersecting plotlines in lieu of a more straightforward romp, Layne conveys themes of independence, identity, and realization of one’s potential. VERDICT Action-packed yet heartfelt, short and sweet yet riveting, this one is not to be missed."
 
— School Library Journal, starred review

* "Layne grounds Beetle's bighearted adventure in earthly settings like the mall and Gran's cozy cottage, and she fills 'Allows Town with a gleeful array of fantastic creatures: no two are alike. Her vibrant, comical, and overall super-appealing art is a good match for sometimes-scary and high-octane scenes. Beetle's hero's journey has the adorably vulnerable Blob Ghost at its heart; many kids will also relate to the friendship-and-more story between Beetle and Kat. A high-spirited debut about learning to trust one's heart and instincts."
— Booklist, Starred Review

* "Solid character work by debut creator Layne slowly builds themes of outgrown childhood friendship, cultural difference, consent, and queer romance that highlight the lush world she’s created. A saturated palette that changes and brightens amid strong shows of power, and resonant interpersonal elements—including Beetle’s bond with her grandmother—work in harmonious tandem to deliver a stalwart story of magic, witches, and the mall."
— Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"Luminous art and creative panel placement make for a zippy read in this graphic novel, whose LGBTQIA+ representation is treated as matter-of-factly as its fantasy elements."
 
— The Horn Book

Product Details
ISBN: 9781534441545
ISBN-10: 1534441549
Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: August 4th, 2020
Pages: 256
Language: English